POCAHONTAS DVD REVIEW

All topics relating to Disney-branded content.
Tk2

POCAHONTAS DVD REVIEW

Post by Tk2 »

Hi first question: I've got a zipped file with captures from the DVD, how can upload them?????

here's my review:

I’m a designer, and the aesthetics of Disney DVDs have always intrigued me. This review will not discuss the movie or the audio commentary rather than the whole experience of this DVD.

First I’d like to start with a positive note, for once I’m glad that the cover of this DVD release is somewhat true to the original Pocahontas artworks we’ve seen when the movie came out way back in 1995, and is far much better than that horrible green cover of the US version which has the new Disney tactic of extreme close-ups of the main character (as in Bambi & the Cinderella artwork we’ve seen so far).

The problem with UK Disney DVDs is the insert. While some are lucky to have a simple double sided sheet with a picture from the movie on one side and the numbered scenes on the others, of late they all have a folded booklet with a list of all Disney films, under the title “which ones are you missing”. No scene list, no special features list. With Pocahontas, there is no booklet of any sort at all! It’s funny how the American audience are treated with gorgeous full color booklets with in-depth looks at the contents of the DVD, while the UK audience get a list of 4 items with “and Much More!” printed on the back of the case and the rest is up to you to figure out!

The print quality on the disks themselves is very bad, reminiscent of the print quality on DVDs in the mid-nineties; grainy, with high contrast images and simply cheap.

Disk one: