Decreasing quality of Disney DVDs: Laziness or a subtle ploy

All topics relating to Disney-branded content.
ichabod
Diamond Edition

Decreasing quality of Disney DVDs: Laziness or a subtle ploy

Post by ichabod »

It's something I've been pondering for a couple of months now, so i thought I'd finally start a thread.

So my argument, could Disney be deliberately releasing DVDs that just aren't that good? I mean look at DVDs released when DVDs were still in their early days, when VHS still ruled the roost like "Atantis the Lost Empire", "Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs", "Tron" or The Vault Disney series. The word packed to the brim barely covers it, whereas these days 2 disc are rarer, I mean Brother Bear's 2 disc was inferior to that of New Groove and Atlantis and Chicken Little (which was more financially succesful than either of the previous 3 mentioned, only gets treated to a (rather so-so) 1 disc DVD.

The Platinum lines have decreased somewhat in terms of features also, the grandeur of "Snow White" and "Aladdin", was not mirrored in the recent additions of "Lady and the Tramp" and "Cinderella". Granted the features present were nice and imformative, but there are 1 disc DVDs with I've seen with more features.

Also with titles such as "Remember the Titans", "Tarzan", "The Emperor's New Groove and "Dumbo" being rereleased with new editions, that are missing features that were present on previous editions, the excuse that "Disney couldn't be bothered" can't be used, because they have the material, sitting there waiting to be used.

Finally a large annoyance with Disney purists was the substandard transfer qualities on the latest wave of Treasures being far below the previous waves.

So, I've outlined 4 cases (which you pretty much already knew).

But now, I'll ask "Do you think this could all have been deliberate?"

"Why?" you might ask, "Why would Disney deliberately not do their best to fill a DVD and make consumers and fans happy?"